Double-signing for Diamonds; pigs seen floating serenly over Airwair Stand…

Rushden and Diamonds today announced the double-coup of goalkeeper Alan Marriot, and ex-SPL attacking midfielder Dean McDonald.

7 new players? A hotel planned? Long-term future looking secure? 9/2 odds on promotion? Is this really RDFC?!

Dean McDonald was featured in yesterday`s Blog. Click here for said article on RDFC`s newest attacking presense.

After promosing its readers Danny Potter, Shwan Jalal, Mark Tyler and a multitude of other new No.1`s, RDFC Blog was caught off guard by the signing of Alan Marriot. Surprised,but not dismayed, a quick Wikipedia search later revealed that he spent 9 years at Lincoln City after coming through the Tottenham Hotspur youth set-up. He received much praise, with apparent reason: during late 2001 and 2004 he made 140 consecutive league matches; he became just the 9th ever LC player to notch up 300 appearences;he became the first player in the club`s history to keep 100 league clean sheets;he was voted 19th in the clubs All-Time Top-100 players list.

In total, Alan made over 350 league appearences, conceding just over 400, and keeping 106 clean sheets in the process.

Marriot and McDonald join Clare, Phillips, Wolleaston, Mitchell and Osano in the new look RDFC side, with Garry Hill wanting to add a CB and a LB before the BSP campaign begins.

Marriot said: “I actually came down here when I left Spurs for a couple of days on trial. At the time Brian Talbot was the manager and he already had a couple of good keepers. Being a local lad, I wanted to sign. Unfortunately things didn’t work out back then for different reasons and instead I moved to Lincoln where I’ve had a fantastic time. Hopefully by coming to Diamonds I can get back to my best and prove a point to those people who have let me go.I wanted to do a deal because I’m from this area and also the facilities are first-class. As soon as the club showed an interest, they stood out from all the other options.”

McDonald spoke of his determination to get his career back on track after a disapointing 7-appearence campaign last term: “I think at my age of 22 I need to be playing regularly after a couple of years when I’ve been in and out of the first team. I need to get into the groove. I spoke to the manager here and he was really keen to have me. As a player you need to feel clubs want you. He has given me an opportunity to do my best. I can see the club has got ambition to get as high as they can. It would be a great achievement to get promoted into the Football League again.”

4 Responses to Double-signing for Diamonds; pigs seen floating serenly over Airwair Stand…

  1. Alan M says:

    Hi Guys, nice to be here. Thanks for the warm welcome – but you’ve spelt my name wrong! It’s Marriott with 2 T’s.

    Spelling’s a bit of a hobby of mine actually. On the morning of a match I love flicking through the pages of a dictionary or thesaurus – there’s nothing better to focus the mind! I pride myself on being able to spot errors – in the case of this blog article the culprits were “apparances”, “promising”, and “presence”. Aspiring journalists take note!

  2. rdfcfansblog says:

    Good to have you with us. 😉

  3. coolcuts says:

    “It’s Marriott with 2 T’s” – and you should know then that it should be ‘two’ lol

  4. Alan M says:

    Indeed it should. I put that in to see who would spot it. Little did I suspect it would be someone whose name begins with a lower-case letter!

    I see I’ve become a talking point on The Diamonds Forum – sadly, the gaffer’s regulations prevent me from registering there, or engaging in email exchanges with your good selves. However, there is nothing in the aforementioned regulations regarding blogs – that oversight is to our benefit!

    Must go now, as I have to tend to my collection of carnivorous plants (another one of my hobbies)…

Leave a Reply

