Boxing comes first as Woody announces football retirement…

Curtis Woodhouse retained his unbeaten record as a boxer by winning his 7th straight fight. It took him all of 57 seconds to defeat Wayne Downing, his 4th win by a KO.

The ET reports that this will be Woody’s last season as a Rushden player, before he goes full-time inside the ring. He announced the news after the fight.

“I’ve only been in boxing for two minutes and I’m under no illusions that I’ve still got a lot to learn. But it is no coincidence that my best performance has come in the football close season.Rushden have been brilliant to me in allowing me to pursue both sports but I am only staying in football for one more season so I can support my family. Within 12 months I will be boxing full-time and you will see a startling difference”

Curtis will have one last chance to help Rushden gain promotion next term before he puts all of his effort into the ring.

 

 

Leave a Reply

